top of page

My Pain, My Tears

By Oluwaleye Adedoyin Grace





My dad is my pain,

Momma is my tears.


Is he worth the title of a father?

Does she really deserve the pain?

Are we punished for the sins of Israel?


Every day, I watch dad coming home with bottles of bear on each hands,

I watch him staggers from side to side,

I see momma with pain and tears;

I watch those weak red eyes rolling like it will fall from its socket,

I watch our lives crumbling and our generation ready to vanish.


Dad walks closely to the door,

And slumps on the coach beside the small black and white television.

After some hours of slumbering,

He wakes up and staggers to his bedroom.

Where momma soaks the bed with her tears.


I will never forget the first night I heard mom cry.

We thought they were making memory of the cold night,

But the next day, she was bruised

The swollen eyes were visible,


The blood told the story of the night before.


We all thought that was the end,

We never knew that was the beginning of our sorrow.

Dad made mom cry, it seems it brings him joy

They say everything happens for a purpose,

Was this purposed by God?


 

Oluwaleye Adedoyin Grace is a 18-years-old Nigerian lady. She is currently studying law at Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria in Kaduna State though she lives at kwara State. She believes poetry has a power of easing inner pain and most of all, changing the world!

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happiness

Here and there happiness is, But no one recognizes where it is. Every day everyone runs after it, but Almost everyone knows not what it is.

bottom of page